in-store offers

June’s Vinyl Reissues

Fopp's Picks

with vinyl reissues from David Bowie, Elton John, Frank Sinatra and more, June is shaping up to be a great month for record collectors. here’s our picks for June.

David Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars – 50th Anniversary Picture Disc


release date: 17th June 2022


On 17th June, 2022, 50 years and one day after the original U.K. release date, THE RISE AND FALL OF ZIGGY STARDUST AND THE SPIDERS FROM MARS will be issued as a limited edition 50th anniversary picture disc, featuring the same master and a replica promotional poster for the album. This new pressing of THE RISE AND FALL OF ZIGGY STARDUST AND THE SPIDERS FROM MARS was cut on a customised late Neumann VMS80 lathe with fully recapped electronics from 192kHz restored masters of the original Trident Studios master tapes, with no additional processing on transfer. 

Queen –  The Platinum Collection – 6LP coloured vinyl box set


release date: 17th June 2022


Queen’s compilation ‘The Platinum Collection’, featuring all three of their Greatest Hits albums, shows their unrivalled track record of chart-topping, award-winning, record-breaking rock and pop classics. With four songwriters in the band – Freddie Mercury, Brian May, Roger Taylor and John Deacon – Queen created a glorious legacy of all-time anthems that still ring out across the ages. The collection includes ‘Greatest Hits’ – best-selling album of all time in the UK to date, ‘Greatest Hits II’ and ‘Greatest Hits III’ on a 6LP coloured vinyl box set. ‘The Platinum Collection’ is a reminder that Queen were always colourful, always dynamic, always ablaze with passion and pride.

Prince & the Revolution: Live – 3LP box set


release date: 3rd June 2022


James Brown had the Apollo, Jimi Hendrix had Monterey Pop, and Prince had Syracuse, New York’s Carrier Dome – the Purple Rain Tour performance that was beamed to millions live via satellite and captured for posterity in the Grammy Award-nominated concert film ‘Prince and The Revolution: Live’, and has since gone down in history as one of the most iconic live recordings in pop and rock history. For the first time, this powerful performance by Prince and The Revolution has been entirely remixed from the original 2-inch multitrack master reels. This version of the album is on 3 black LPs with a 16-page book with never-before-seen photos of the Purple Rain Tour and liner notes.


Elton John – Madman Across the Water – 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 4LP


release date: 10th June 2022


The box set includes a 40-page booklet with introductions by Elton and Bernie, photos and essay featuring interviews with many who helped make Madman Across The Water, plus a reproduction 1971-poster, as well as memorabilia and artwork taken from the Rocket Archive.
LP ONE: Madman Across The Water Remastered Album
LP TWO & THREE: Demos, Live and Alternative versions
LP FOUR: BBC Sounds For Saturday concert, first broadcast in 1972



Roxy Music – Siren (Half Speed Master)


release date: 10th June 2022


Roxy Music’s ‘Siren’ was released in 1975 and produced the singles ‘Love Is the Drug’ and ‘Both Ends Burning’, peaking at number 2 and 25 respectively in the UK Singles Chart. ‘Siren’ is a captivating offering which draws you in even closer on each listen. Each Roxy Music album has been re-issued with a fresh Half-Speed cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios, London. To reflect the audio, all eight of the Roxy Music studio albums have had their artwork revised and with a gloss laminated finish so that each album is not just a record it’s a piece of art.





Frank Sinatra – Watertown


release date: 3rd June 2022


Released in 1970, ‘Watertown’ is a lost masterpiece. It was a turning point for Frank Sinatra: a concept album from the man who pioneered the concept album, written by Bob Gaudio, of Four Seasons fame, and Jake Holmes, who previously had written the Four Seasons’ own concept album. Despite a top 5 AC chart showing for the single ‘I Would Be In Love (anyway),’ the album was poorly received at the time, but has gone through a re-evaluation in recent years and is now considered one of Sinatra’s finest recordings.



Cabaret Voltaire – The Crackdown


release date: 17th June 2022



Cabaret Voltaire were very much ahead of their time, harmonising dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental electronics, making them, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts in electronic music. Initially released in 1983, ‘The Crackdown’ was the band’s fourth album, and first after the exit of founding member Chris Watson. The album fuses their earlier experimental records with the electronic dance-funk sound that would become more prominent within their subsequent releases and includes the magnificent haunting single ‘Just Fascination’. The significance of ‘The Crackdown’ has grown over the decades, also enlisted in NME’s best albums of 1983.




The Notorious B.I.G. – Life After Death – 25th Anniversary Super Deluxe Box Set


release date: 10th June 2022


To celebrate the 25th Anniversary on 25th March 2022, the diamond-certified GRAMMY®-nominated double-disc opus will be released as a 25th Anniversary Super Deluxe Box Set on June 10, 2022. The Life After Death 25th Anniversary Super Deluxe Box Set consists of 8 LPs and a commemorative booklet featuring rare photos from the album cover shoot, liner notes by Sheldon Pearce, and exclusive reflections from members of the team who worked on the original album release. In addition to the original album, it includes the Hypnotize 12”, Mo Money Mo Problems 12”, Sky’s The Limit 12”, and Nasty Boy 12”.



Madness – Mad Not Bad


release date: 25th June 2022


‘Mad Not Mad’ is the sixth studio album by Madness. Originally released in September 1985, it marked a departure from the band’s original line-up, with keyboard player Mike Barson taking a break from the group after an astonishingly successful run of five hit albums in as many years. Style-wise ‘Mad Not Mad’ presented a more polished side of Madness and contains some of their most sophisticated and political song-writing. The first single, ‘Yesterday’s Men’ finds the band in a smooth, reflective mood, dealing with the dispossessed characters in and around Camden Town, and ‘Sweetest Girl’ is a cover of the iconic Scritti Politti track, while ‘Uncle Sam’ is a classic Madness romp relayed through the narrative of a soldier’s experiences during World War II.





Dire Straits – Money For Nothing


release date: 17th June 2022


Greatest hits collection, originally released in October 1988, and featuring songs from the band’s first five albums. Fully remastered by Bob Ludwig, and cut by Bernie Grundman, this reissue includes ‘Telegraph Road (Live Remix)’ which was previously only available on the original CD format, and a brand new mix of ‘Portobello Belle (Live)’.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *