in-store offers

November’s Vinyl Reissues

Fopp's Picks

with vinyl reissues from iron maiden, steely dan and more, november is shaping up to be a great month for record collectors. here’s our picks for november.

Iron Maiden – The Number of the Beast + Beast Over Hammersmith

release date: 18th November 2022


2022 is the 40th anniversary of Iron Maiden’s iconic third album ‘The Number of the Beast’ (1982). The first Iron Maiden album to feature Bruce Dickinson on vocals, ‘The Number of the Beast’ was also the band’s first album to hit the number 1 spot in the UK. The album spawned the crossover hit singles ‘Run to the Hills’ and ‘The Number of the Beast’, and introduced the band to a truly global audience. To celebrate this milestone anniversary Iron Maiden release a very special 3LP collectors vinyl featuring the original album with revised track list plus the legendary 1982 live show from Hammersmith Odeon ‘The Beast Over Hammersmith’.

Steely Dan – Can’t Buy a Thrill

release date: 4th November 2022


At long last: the classic Steely Dan MCA Records catalog is back on vinyl. Led by Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, Steely Dan released seven albums from 1972 through 1980, an extraordinary run of topline musicianship, clever wordplay, genius arrangements and pop hits that outshone the top 40 of its day, or any day. The Steely Dan vinyl reissue series will kick off with their debut LP, Can’t Buy A Thrill, now in its 40th anniversary year, which featured the band’s breakthrough hits, “Do It Again,” “Reelin’ in the Years” and the recently viral “Dirty Work.” Meticulously remastered by Bernie Grundman, these reissues were cut by Alex Abrash at his renowned AA Mastering studio and pressed at Precision. 

2pac – All Eyez On Me

release date: 11th November 2022


‘All Eyez on Me’ is the fourth studio album by 2Pac and the last to be released during his lifetime. Released on 13th February 1996 by Death Row and Interscope Records, the album features guest appearances from Dr. Dre, Snoop Doggy Dogg, Redman, Method Man, Nate Dogg, Kurupt, Daz Dillinger, E-40, K-Ci & JoJo, and the Outlawz, among others. The album features productions by Shakur alongside a variety of producers including DJ Quik, Johnny ‘J’, Dr. Dre, DJ Bobcat, Dat Nigga Daz, DJ Pooh, DeVante Swing, among others. The album includes the number-one singles ‘How Do U Want It’ (featuring K-Ci and JoJo) and ‘California Love’ (with Dr. Dre, featuring Roger Troutman) and the hip-hop ballad ‘I Ain’t Mad at Cha’, along with the Snoop Dogg collaboration ‘2 of Amerikaz Most Wanted’ as a promotional single. It featured four singles in all, the most of any of Shakur’s albums. Moreover, ‘All Eyez on Me’ made history as the first ever double-full-length hip-hop solo studio album released for mass consumption globally. ‘All Eyez on Me’ was the second album by 2Pac to chart at number one on both the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums charts, selling 566,000 copies in the first week. Upon release, ‘All Eyez on Me’ received instant critical acclaim, and it has been ranked by critics as one of the greatest hip hop albums, as well as one of the greatest albums of all time. In 2020 the album was ranked 436th on Rolling Stone’s updated list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

guns n’ roses – Use Your Illusion I

release date: 11th November 2022


Originally released in September 1991, ‘Use Your Illusion I’ is the third studio album by the American band, released on the same day as its counterpart, ‘Use Your Illusion II’. Although the band did not abandon the aggressive hard-rock sound they had become known for with ‘Appetite For Destruction’ (1987), ‘Use Your Illusion I’ demonstrated a new-found musical maturity, incorporating elements of blues, classical music, heavy metal, punk rock, and classic rock and roll. Features the singles ‘Don’t Cry’, ‘Live and Let Die’ and ‘November Rain’.

Sigur ros – ( ) 20th Anniversary Remaster

release date: 11th November 2022


Third studio album by the Icelandic post-rock band. It is the only album where Jonsi sings entirely in the wordless lyrics of Hopelandic. A desire to elide meaning and allow the listener to bring their own interpretation to the music, extends to the eight songs, all of which are nameless. The music is broadly divided into two halves, divided by a critical 36 seconds of silence. The first half of the album being lighter and more optimistic, and the second half bleaker and more melancholic, culminating in the thundering climax of ‘Untitled #8’, the closing song of every Sigur Ros show since the song was written in 2000. This 20th Anniversary edition has been remastered by legendary mastering engineer Ted Jenson at Sterling Sound.

Roy Brooks – Beat

release date: 11th November 2022


Recorded for Berry Gordy’s short-lived Workshop Jazz imprint and recorded at the Hitsville USA studio, Roy Brooks (joined by fellow Detroit natives George Bohanon and Hugh Lawson, along with his Horace Silver Quintet bandmates Blue Mitchell, Junior Cook, and Eugene Taylor) injects a Motor City soul-jazz groove into the hard bop root of this engaging 1964 album. Audio transferred from the analog tapes. ‘Verve By Request’ Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.

Alice Coltrane – Ptah, the El Daoud


release date: 18th November 2022


Recorded in the basement studio of the Coltrane family home in Dix Hills in 1970, Alice Coltrane’s fourth album is a transcendent masterpiece of spiritual jazz. The title track is an ode to the Egyptian God, Ptah (the El Daoud meaning ‘the beloved’). Many moments on the album reach what Coltrane herself defined the term Turiya as: ‘A state of consciousness – the high state of Nirvana, the goal of human life’.

Beat hapenning – you turn me on


release date: 11th November 2022


Fifth studio album by the lo-fi/indie rock band, originally released in 1992. The album was produced by Stuart Moxham from influential Welsh post-punk/indie pop band Young Marble Giants.


killing joke – Hossanas from the Basement of Hell


release date: 18th November 2022


16 years on from its deliverance, Killing Joke release the deluxe version of arguably one of their darkest albums to date. In addition to the 9 bludgeoning tracks featured on the original incarnation of the album, the deluxe version has three deep cuts – ‘Afterburner’, ‘Afterburner (alternative version)’ and ‘Universe B’ – all regarded as some of the best and most powerful Killing Joke songs ever.

Jamiroquai – A Funk Odyssey

release date: 18th November 2022


Fifth studio album by the English funk band, featuring the singles ‘Little L’, ‘You Give Me Something’, ‘Love Foolosophy’ and ‘Corner of the Earth’, all of which reached the top 40 in the UK Singles Chart. Combining elements of funk, disco and electronica, the release of the album represented the peak of international commercial success for Jamiroquai, and in the ensuing world tour the group became a household name in many countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *