in-store offers

August’s vinyl reissues

Fopp's Picks

With vinyl reissues from ABC, Disclosure, The Cult and more, August is shaping up to be a great month for record collectors. Here’s our picks for August.

Kurt Vile – Wakin’ On a Pretty Daze – 10th Anniversary Yellow 2LP


release date: 25th august 2023


10th anniversary of Kurt Vile’s fifth full-length and first 2xLP, ‘Wakin on a Pretty Daze’ from 2013. To celebrate this milestone, the label have brought the record back as a yellow vinyl version. Where previous albums alternated between gorgeous fingerpicking and heavy guitar workouts, ‘Wakin’ blended the two into dreamy and expansive songs that frequently stretched well out beyond the five-minute mark. Back then we said: ‘It’s a record that would have sounded great 30 years ago, sounds great today, and will still sound great 30 years from now.’ Ten years down the line, we’re still confident that ‘Wakin’ will deliver the goods – yesterday, today, and in 2043.

ABC – The Lexicon of Love (Half Speed Master)


release date: 4th August 2023


In June 1982, the English pop band ABC released their debut studio album, which would go on to become a seminal work, kickstarting the vibrant and iconic ’80s music era. This album, characterized by its captivating sound and compelling storytelling, showcased the band’s remarkable talent and set the stage for their remarkable journey in the music industry.
Though not a concept album in the traditional sense, the self-titled debut by ABC weaves a cohesive narrative around the universal theme of heartache and the pursuit of meaningful relationships. The lead singer’s emotive and soulful vocals draw listeners into a world of romantic struggles, where emotions run deep and love proves elusive.
To celebrate the enduring significance of this groundbreaking album, a special commemoration has been meticulously crafted. Half-speed mastering, a technique performed at the renowned Abbey Road Studios by the esteemed Miles Showell, has breathed new life into the album’s timeless tracks, enhancing their audio quality to an extraordinary level that honors the band’s original artistic vision.
Presented in a new gatefold sleeve, this release stands as a loving homage to the album’s enduring legacy. An Abbey Road obi strip gracefully adorns the package, symbolizing the prestigious heritage of the recording process and the revered status that this album holds within the musical landscape.

David Bowie – Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars: The Motion Picture Soundtrack – 50th Anniversary Gold 2LP


release date: 11th August 2023


David Bowie retired Ziggy Stardust, his most famous alter-ego, in front of 5000 stunned fans at London’s Hammersmith Odeon. Now, the fully restored film and soundtrack will be released for the first time for the 50th anniversary of the show. 
The film and its soundtrack have been newly remastered. Both performances were newly mixed by long-time Bowie collaborator Tony Visconti. The show featured Bowie’s famous speech just before the final encore, ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide’, where he revealed that he was retiring the Ziggy Stardust persona. The shocking announcement came as a surprise to all in attendance – including members of his band and was the first proclamation of its kind in rock and roll.

Disclosure – Settle


release date: 11th August 2023


Released 31st May 2013 via Island Records, ‘Settle’ is the debut album by brothers Guy & Howard Lawrence, better known as Disclosure. The album was nominated for Best Dance/Electronica Album at the 2014 Grammy Award and for the 2013 Mercury Prize. Debuting at number #1 in the UK album chart selling 45k copies in its first week and certified platinum by the British Phonographic Industry later that year. Celebrating the 10th anniversary of this culturally important album is a 2LP transparent orange vinyl. Featuring 4 non album tracks on vinyl for the very first time, chosen by the brothers and a new 10th anniversary hype sticker. 

Gerry Rafferty – City to City – Limited Edition Orange Vinyl


release date: 25th August 2023


Originally released in 1978, ‘City to City’ was Gerry Rafferty’s second solo album and first release since his departure from Stealers Wheel. The album was a top 10 hit across the globe, including #1 in the US, going Platinum in the process. The album is masterclass in soft rock, featuring arguably the most famous saxophone riff in music with ‘Baker Street’, alongside the recent viral hit ‘Right Down the Line’.

The Cult – Sonic Temple


release date: 11th August 2023


Released in 1989, ‘Sonic Temple’ album catapulted The Cult into superstar status and remains their most commercially successful release. Declared platinum in 1990, it was also a critical success, cementing their place in the pantheon of hard rock and heavy metal bands and earning them a devoted following that endures to this day. ‘Sonic Temple’ had four massive hits; ‘Fire Woman’, ‘Edie (Ciao Baby)’, ‘Sun King’ and ‘Sweet Soul Sister ‘.

Elvis Presley – Aloha from Hawaii Via Satellite


release date: 11th August 2023


‘Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite / The Alternate Aloha’ is a 4-LP set consisting of the famed 1973 TV broadcast of Elvis’ legendary performance on the tropical island. In keeping with the original 2LP issue, the concert recording is featured on the first two discs. Now here’s the VIP part of the program: the two additional records contain the previously unreleased rehearsals for the show. The package in total contains 51 all-time favourites including ‘Burning Love’, ‘Steamroller Blues’ and ‘An American Trilogy’. 5 bonus tracks were specially recorded for the Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite show. Accompanied by new liner notes, never seen before pictures and fully remastered audio.

The Strokes – Angles


release date: 4th August 2023


In the year 2011, The Strokes released their highly anticipated album ‘Angles’. The album represented not only a continuation of their signature indie rock and alternative sound but also a fearless exploration of new musical frontiers, demonstrating the band’s creative growth and artistic maturity. It was a momentous release for The Strokes as it marked their first new album since the acclaimed ‘First Impressions of Earth,’ which had graced the music scene back in 2006. The six-year gap between these albums built up immense anticipation among fans, and ‘Angles’ unquestionably lived up to the high expectations, exceeding them in many respects. ‘Angles’ debuted at number 4 on the prestigious Billboard 200 chart in the United States. The album’s commercial success was evident, with 88,000 copies sold during its very first week of release.

Jim Croce – I Got a Name – 50th Anniversary Edition


release date: 18th August 2023


I Got A Name is part of a series of 1972 – 1974 Catalog Reissues of the Legendary Jim Croce, which are now back in print on CD & 180g Black Vinyl. The set of reissues includes 3 Top 10 Gold Certified Studio Albums & Top 5 Platinum Certified Greatest Hits Release, featuring 10 Billboard Hot 100 singles, including 8 Top 40, 5 Top 10, and 2 Number 1 Classics.I Got A Name was Croce’s fifth and final studio album, released in December 1973, and was his first posthumous release. It reached #2 in the charts and is certified GOLD. It features the Top 10 Hits “I’ll Have To Say I Love You In A Song” (#9), “I Got A Name” (#10) and Top 40 Hit “Workin’ At The Car Wash Blues” (#32). The title track was the theme for the movie “The Last American Hero”, starring Jeff Bridges, and it became a best-selling single.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *