in-store offers

April’s vinyl reissues

Fopp's Picks

With vinyl reissues from 10cc , dr. dre, the white stripes and more, April is shaping up to be a great month for record collectors. Here’s our picks for April.

10cc – The Original Soundtrack


release date: 28th April 2023


Formed in 1972, 10cc were at once commercial, at once strange – described as the ‘missing link between the Beatles and Blur’, it was rare to have four talented writers, singers and multi-instrumentalists all under one roof; but in Eric Stewart, Graham Gouldman, Lol Creme and Kevin Godley, 10cc had just that – they released some of the most inventive and elaborate pop music ever to emerge from Britain. After two albums and a run of hit singles on the UK label, the group moved across to Mercury Records in 1975. On the strength of one song, 10cc did a five-year deal with them for five albums. That one song was ‘I’m Not in Love’. The group’s signature song – played over five million times on US radio – was one of many riches on their eagerly anticipated 1975 album, ‘The Original Soundtrack’. Also containing the hit single ‘Life Is a Minestrone’, the album opens with the infuential nine-minute mini-opera, ‘Un Nuit a Paris’, demonstrating how far pop music had travelled in a short space of time.

dr. dre – The chronic


release date: 21st April 2023


Legendary 7x Grammy and Emmy Award-winning artist/producer Dr. Dre celebrates the 30th anniversary of his magnum opus, ‘The Chronic’. First released on December 15, 1992, on Death Row Records/Interscope, the album peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard 200 and has spent 97 weeks on the chart since its release. The album also spawned three top 40 hits on the Hot 100, including top ten records with ‘Nuthin’ But a ‘G’ Thang’ (No. 2) featuring Snoop Dogg and ‘F- Wit Dre Day’ (No. 8). ‘The Chronic’ topped the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart for eight weeks, while ‘Nuthin’ But a ‘G’ Thang’ hit No. 1 for two weeks on Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs.

Stanley Turrentine – Mr. Natural


release date: 7th April 2023


Stanley Turrentine’s 1964 recording Mr. Natural featured the soulful tenor saxophonist and Blue Note stalwart at the helm of a cutting-edge modern jazz group with Lee Morgan on trumpet, McCoy Tyner on piano, Bob Cranshaw on bass, Elvin Jones on drums, and Ray Barretto on congas for three songs. This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.



Linkin Park – Meteora


release date: 7th April 2023


‘Meteora’, Linkin Park’s ground-breaking second album, was released in March 2003 and included the global hit singles ‘Somewhere I Belong’, ‘Faint’, ‘Numb’, ‘Breaking the Habit’ and ‘From the Inside’. It has sold over 16 million copies globally and has been certified multi-platinum, platinum, or gold in 15 countries. To mark the 20th anniversary of this landmark release, it is being re-issued in multiple formats: This 4LP Vinyl set features the original album plus unreleased bonus song ‘Lost’ – a fully realized track from the 2002 album recording sessions featuring stunning vocals from Chester Bennington. There are two bonus discs which include rare tracks, demos and live performances.

Rush – Signals 40th Anniversary Super Deluxe Box Set


release date: 28th April 2023


The Signals Super Deluxe celebrates 40 years with a brand-new Hugh Syme cover and the 2015 remaster on CD for the first time. The album vinyl was cut for the first time at half-speed via DMM and pressed on 180g black vinyl for optimal vinyl quality with new Hugh Syme art in a premium tip-on jacket. A Blu-ray Audio disc features brand-new immersive Dolby Atmos and 5.1 surround mixes by Richard Chycki, the 2015 48kHz 24-bit stereo remaster, new animated visualizers for each song and 2 bonus music videos for ‘Subdivisions’ and ‘Countdown’.

John Lee Hooker – Burnin’


release date: 14th April 2023


Celebrating the 60th anniversary of Hooker’s electrifying blues classic, ‘Burnin”, this 180-gram reissue offers newly remastered audio from the original analog tapes. Featuring a stereo mix of the album, as it was first released in 1962, the set includes the King of the Boogie’s signature hit, ‘Boom Boom’, and features members of the legendary Funk Brothers (Motown Records’ celebrated house band). A tip-on jacket, which replicates Vee-Jay Records’ original designs, rounds out the package.

The Ahmad Jamal Trio – The Awakening


release date: 14th April 2023


‘The Awakening’ with pianist Ahmad Jamal, bassist Jamil Nasser and drummer Frank Grant. Recorded at Plaza Sound Studios, New York City on February 2nd and 3rd, 1970. The album features eight tracks, each showcasing the trio’s exceptional musicianship and creativity. Its innovative use of space and rhythm, coupled with Jamal’s impeccable piano playing, continue to influence jazz musicians today.

The White Stripes – Elephant


release date: 21st April 2023


“Elephant” is the fourth studio album by the American rock band, The White Stripes. It was released in 2003 and is widely regarded as one of the band’s most influential and successful works. It hits you right in the gut and leaves you reeling with its raw, unadulterated power. In many ways, it’s a testament to the enduring power of rock and roll, and to the primal, animalistic energy that drives us all. This release is on Iridescent White and Translucent Red 2LP.

Wynton Kelly Trio & Wes Montgomery – Smokin’ at the half note


release date: 28th April 2023


To celebrate Wes Montgomery’s centennial on 6th March 2023, Verve and UMe released an ‘Acoustic Sounds’ edition of ‘Smokin’ At The Half Note’ -essential listening for anyone who wants to hear why Wes’ live shows were considered the pinnacle of his brilliant and incredibly influential guitar playing.
He never played with more drive and confidence than he does here, supported every step of the way by a genuinely smokin’ Wynton Kelly. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.

Small Faces – There are but four small faces


release date: 14th April 2023


“There Are But Four Small Faces” is the third studio album by the English rock band Small Faces, released in 1967. The album marked a significant departure from the band’s earlier R&B-influenced sound, incorporating psychedelic and progressive rock elements into their music.
The album was a commercial success, reaching number 12 on the UK Albums Chart and number 186 on the US Billboard 200 chart. This reissue includes original artwork, in-depth liner notes, coloured vinyl and has been remastered by Nick Robbins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *